Learning How to Paint in Oils by Elaine Ostroot

a christmas card


I’d like you to meet someone special.  Her name is Bonnie.  She is a dear friend.  We were talking one day and she mentioned that she had always wanted to learn how to paint.  She is about my age and has a tremor that she felt precluded that endeavor.  I told her to come to the studio on Mondays (I have “open studio” that day) and we would see what we could do.  She agreed and that was the start of Bonnie’s art career.  This woman has an eye for color.  Fine detail was difficult for her so we settled on a style that was loose and very colorful.  I wish you could see the beautiful paintings she has created.  So beautiful that she took first place in painting, best of show, plus viewer’s choice the first year she entered our Labor Day show.  She won enough money to set up her studio at home.  I nearly burst I was so proud of her.  The two judges commented that this woman should be chained to her easel and not allowed to do anything but paint. 

My point is this – it’s never too late to start to learn to do something that you love.  There’s always a way.  This is the reason I’m attempting this blog.  If I can assist another “Bonnie” it’s worth the effort.  I know how much I have been blessed by assisting others to find the joy I get from painting.

We celebrate Christmas because of the  birth of the Son of God on this, the world He created.  We celebrate in thanksgiving that He took on the job of delivering His creation.   I, personally, am so glad  that He did.    So we celebrate His birth and look forward to His return.   I hope your Christmas time is full of joy and renewed faith.   We will get back to the study of oil painting after the new year.  We have much more to cover.   Happy Christmas to you all.

Comments on: "a christmas card" (1)

  1. Bonnie Dillard said:

    I’m impressed with your lessons and your Christmas card. I like it. I do more looking at your lessons after the 1st of the year. Do ou miss Mary an Lloyd.How is Jerry doing?Mary said he is done with rehab. I miss you, both. Love you Thanks for all the art teaching you did. Thanks to Jerry for driving me back and forth. I miss John and Donna too and his bible studies. Merry Christmas! Bonnie

Leave a Reply

